A Cold April in Alaska

I woke up this morning, went down to the kitchen and brewed a pot of coffee.  While waiting for the drip coffeemaker to do it’s thing, I glanced at my outdoor thermometer….and it said 5….that’s 5 degrees F…..on April 10th in Anchorage, Alaska.

Yup, Alaska is a cold place….but not this cold.   A month ago we had almost no snow and balmy weather.  We all had dreams of an early Spring and then it started snowing and got cold.   Where is global warming when you really need it.

If you are looking for someone to blame…it’s me.   My gasoline powered snow blower broke in February and I didn’t get it fixed.  I’m sure if I had paid to fix the thing, we’d be watching grass grow in my backyard.   But no, it’s snowed three times in the last week, totaling about 15, perhaps as much as 18 inches of new snow.   I’ve had enough shoveling.   OK Alaska, you win….bring on Spring.

I’ve lived in Alaska for 40 years and I’ve never seen an April like the one we are having right now.   Every day is 10 to 20 degrees below normal.   Anchorage has almost 15 hours of daylight right now, and it’s cold.

I must fight the temptation to use the recent cold in Alaska and the Northeastern USA and in Europe to rail against global warming.   And it is tempting, but it would be an error.  There is no way for me to know why it is has been so cold.   It could be  air pollution from China is causing the cooling….or it might be some form of normal climate variation. Wild variation in regional climate is normal.

All I really know is…..I’m ready for Spring.

Leave a Reply

